Migrating to Cachy from Endeavour

Hello. I’ve been using Arch-based EndeavourOS for 5 years now as an introduction to rolling-based distributions. I’m an IT professional and have used and installed various flavors of UNIX and Linux over the past 24 years. I’d consider myself an advanced Linux user.

For the past couple of years I’ve used the lqx and zen kernels for gaming and audio programs. While I value stability, I like to make incremental improvements that squeeze more performance from my hardware.

A year ago I came across CachyOS and have kept it in the back of my mind to try out. From what I read in the Discord and here in the forums it seems to be fairly stable and performant.

I used the ld-linux-x86-64.so.2 command confirming my hardware is compatible. I understand from the CachyOS wiki the simplest way to start is adding the repositories and using the custom kernels and schedulers.

But what about other packages? Is it safe to let the other packages be updated over time from the CachyOS repositories? Should I re-install or update my existing packages at once? Or worst case, do a clean install which I’d rather prefer not if possible because I have a good setup of dracut, f2fs, and systemd-boot working.

I know there will be left over EndeavourOS packages that may not be compatible or are for themes and conveniences. I’m willing to manually uninstall those as necessary. I don’t use a heavy Desktop Environment, just running BSPWM with X11 from startx.

I saw the warning about using a forked pacman. Could I keep using the version from ArchLinux for the time being, or are there significant changes required for a replacement?

I thought to ask before potentially creating a mess that would be non-trivial to revert.

Hi,

Actually, you need to first add the repository, see here in the wiki:

The script will automatically detect the supported cpu and will add then the correct repository to it.