[Low Priority] Need help with: Zenergy, Gamemode 1.8.1 Core Parking

Hello
I’m new to CachyOS (started on 6.9) and have 2 (low priority) problems:

1. Cannot install Zenergy. It cannot build with this error:
/home/tea/Downloads/zenergy-dkms-git/src/zenergy/zenergy.c: In function ‘amd_create_sensor’:
/home/tea/Downloads/zenergy-dkms-git/src/zenergy/zenergy.c:229:27: error: ‘struct cpuinfo_x86’ has no member named ‘x86_max_cores’
  229 |         sockets = cpus / c->x86_max_cores;

I could easily build this in Nobara (6.8.2 I think or 6.7…)

1. Gamemode 1.8.1 has a “Core Pinning/Core Parking” feature for newer CPUs. For my 7900X3D on Nobara core pinning did not increase FPS at all (although it worked) yet on CachyOS it is actually working! Yet if I go to BIOS and disable CCD1, it is even faster than Core Pinning. Core Parking is supposed to do this but it is not working (it did not work on Nobara either…). How can I either make it work or is there a command to disable CCD1 using Konsole?

Thank you!

Hi,

Welcome to CachyOS.

1. You need to report this upstream, since they need to adjust this for the 6.9 Kernel.
  2. Actually, the Scheduler is most time smart enough. Also the kernel has the “amd preffered core” default enabled and should correctly handle this properly.
    you can make cpus offline via hotplug, but I wouldnt suggest it. Anyways, instead of using gamemode, you can put on steam in the command line for example: taskset -c 0-11 %command%. This result into that the game will only use the first ccd for the game but for other tasks the other cores will be still available.
1 Like

Thank you for your help…
I was about to report issue in Zenergy but noticed there were 3 changes for kernel 6.9 already in past 2 days so it works now!

Regarding Gamemode, unfortunately non of these settings (taskset, gamemode, default kernel performance…) can give performance equal to ccd1 disabled:

Outer Wilds main menu lowest resolution (640x350)

• no Gamemode: 880 to 910 fps